“I’ll Be Home For Christmas”

The Album

Monday morning I saw Tony Bennett singing “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” on the CBS Early Show. It struck a chord with me, a day after I saw Rudy Giuliani talking about the song while campaigning in New Hampshire.  

Here’s what Giuliani had to say about the song: “It’s hard to listen to that song on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day and not get teary-eyed,” Mr. Giuliani told a crowd of some 200 jammed into the Bean Towne Coffee House. “I believe it was written during the Second World War. And it was written about, the ultimate end of the song, is that he’s not going to be home for Christmas. Because he’s far away fighting for liberty, fighting for freedom, fighting for the things that were critical in that period of time.”

Read the rest of the column here.

One Response to ““I’ll Be Home For Christmas””

  1. Vercingetorix Says:

    My father told me that “I’ll be home for Christmas” was actually banned from the airwaves in 1944 because it was believes to hurt morale. The Ardenne offensive was a punch in the stomach to a country that thought the war was practically over after a remarkably successful 1944 European campaign.

    There actually are 2 versions of the song “Have yourself a Merry Little Christmas”. The lyrics for the 1944 version are sort of somber. I first found this out while listening to a compilation of old live Christmas performances.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

