Mark Warner: “The Race to the Future”

Maybe there’s something wrong with me, but I felt that Mark Warner’s keynote speech was the best address of the convention. As compelled as I was by Ted Kennedy’s speech, I was grabbed by the imagery of Warner’s. I loved the metaphor of the Beijing Olympics as well as his use of specific examples to represent the new economy.

One reason it moved me might be based on my observations of our times from afar, a period where dark acts of violence and environmental woes are contrasted with scientific marvels and achievements every day.

There is only one Republican who talks anything like that, and that’s Mitt Romney. But Warner set a very high bar for any Republican to better.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

