The Recession: About Those Bottles and Cans

I’m just in from taking out my recycling. When I got outside, I encountered man pushing a shopping cart collecting cans and bottles for their deposits. I asked him about whether the downturn had affected the amount of money he could earn by doing these. He said two disturbing things: 1) There was a marked decline in the number of bottles and cans being left out for recycling; 2) He faced more competitors seeking to glean extra money during tough times. Scary!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

