Spike Lee’s Gratuitous Attack on the New England Patriots

I was out on 16th Street in Denver getting some quotes from Spike Lee when he used an analogy that stopped me in my tracks.

Lee, of whom I’m a major admirer, was trying to temper the excitement of Barack Obama supporters.

“I’d caution it’s not time for celebrating yet, dancing in the end zone like it’s a done deal,” Mr. Lee said.  “Let’s not be like the New England Patriots. What were they 18 and 0? They thought they’d make history, so they didn’t.” 

Ouch!

Here’s the full item at the New York Sun.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Spike Lee’s Gratuitous Attack on the New England Patriots”

  1. Spanning the Web | Boston Daily Says:

    […] Spike Lee says the wrong thing: The director compares the jubilation of Barack Obama’s supporters to the Patriots. “Let’s not be like the New England Patriots. What were they 18 and 0? They thought they’d make history, so they didn’t.” Ouch. [NY Sun via Seth Gitell] […]

Leave a comment